But, I Wanna Get Smooshed

Standard

Those are the words that the little boy, who looked to be about 4, said to his mother as they exited the grocery store in front of me.  She was trying to get him to hold her hand and when asked why, she replied, “Because, I don’t want you to get smooshed.”  The little boy was quite the bundle of energy.  I had been watching him for awhile as a I waited in line.  He quickly moved from one thing to another and another and was actually very entertaining.  In fact, he had accumulated his own little audience as the other shoppers chuckled in unison as he raced around like he was running an obstacle course.  His response to his mother as she finally took his hand, “but I wanna get smooched,” sounded exactly like something this little energizer bunny would say.  His mother, who had now been elevated to near sainthood in my eyes, looked down and patiently replied, “I don’t want you to get smooshed.  I love you and I would be really sad.”

How many times have we quickly moved through our day, flitting from one event to another?  How many decisions do we make in our day?  All the while, each seemingly innocent choice either solely or compounded with others, has a lasting impact on our future.  My days go by so fast that I can’t remember most of it unless I realize that I have forgotten something or find that I have royally messed up a situation.  Then I have to take the time to review my day, like a slow motion movie reel, to revisit each event until I get to the decision that I should not have made.  At that point, it’s too late to go back in time.  It’s moments like this, that make me wish I had someone looking out for me so that I don’t get smooshed.

Oh, wait, I do!  Maybe that’s why I Thessolonians 5:17 says, “Pray without ceasing.”  God doesn’t want us to walk around like zombies, chanting prayers.  No, that is not what this verse is telling us.  God wants us to be so close to Him that we are always communicating with Him through the Holy Spirit.  Only then will we feel his promptings to do or not do something, go or not go somewhere, say or not something.  When we have an attitude of prayer, we will be able to hear His voice just as loudly as the mother who did not want her son to get smooshed.  You will be able to hear Him say, “Don’t go there.  I love you too much to allow you to get smooshed.”ImagePhoto Credit: http://www.tillhecomes.org/wp-content/uploads/2011/12/Pray-Without-Ceasing.jpg

Leave a Reply

