Aside

Did you ever play the game ‘telephone’ when you were younger?  That was a favorite of mine.  The game worked best with a large group and the results were usually very comical!  Everyone sat in a circle.  One person started the game by whispering a phrase or story to the person next to them who would repeat what they heard (or what they thought they heard) to the person next to them.  This process would continue until the story got back to the person who originally started the game.  The original story would be revealed as well as the story that had made it’s way around the circle and through many ears and translations.  The two stories never matched and really took on a life of it’s own.  One of the reasons that the story did not remain intact is that people hear what they want to hear.  Perhaps one of the translators was distracted and only heard half of the story and then made up the part they missed.  Perhaps, and this is the reason I tend to place most weight on, people anticipate what the story might be and as their focus is on their own anticipated outcome, they miss the actual information being passed to them.  This game taught many lessons to my group of friends and I:  Don’t believe everything you hear; Gossip can be painful and untrue; Lies spread like wildfire and never end the way you intend…..the lessons that can be drawn from this game are innumerable.

I was thinking about this game today as I heard about a young lady whose feelings were crushed as a result of a conversation that she didn’t hear.  She saw people whispering and immediately imagined that they could only be talking about her.  This propelled her to criticize herself as she pinpointed the root of the imagined conversation.  ‘Her outfit must be out of style, although she had recently purchased it and thought it looked alright when she got dressed this morning.’  ‘She must look ugly today.  She was definitely having a bad hair day so that must be the topic.’  ‘Her work production was down and she is probably about to be called into her bosses’ office for discipline.”  On an on these thoughts ran through her mind until she had worked herself into a migraine and overwhelming sadness.  In reality, her co-workers were talking about a picnic they were planning for the following weekend.  The conversation had absolutely nothing to do with her and yet, she had made herself sick as a result of her runaway imagination.  Has this ever happened to you?  I can raise my hand to admit that I am guilty of presuming myself the topic of secret conversations.  Why do we do this to ourselves?  How silly!  We have enough trouble to deal with that we know about without creating trouble where there is none.  If we would only keep our eyes on Him, we could avoid so much hurt and suffering!

“You will keep in perfect peace all who trust in You, all whose thoughts are fixed on You!  Trust in the Lord always, for the Lord God is the eternal Rock.”  Isaiah 26:3-4 (New Living Translation)

I love this verse!  I am making a concerted effort to keep my focus on Jesus, where my thoughts and focus should be rather than down in the weeds of imagination.  Please join me in this effort.  Leave comments of encouragement or suggestions to help myself and others as we endeavor to keep our eyes on Jesus!

Telephone

35 responses »

  1. I think this is one of the most important info for me. And i’m glad reading your article. But should remark on few general things, The website style is perfect, the articles is really excellent : D. Good job, cheers

  2. Very well written post. It will be valuable to anyone who employess it, including yours truly :). Keep doing what you are doing – can’r wait to read more posts.

  3. I have been surfing online more than 3 hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours. It’s pretty worth enough for me. In my view, if all webmasters and bloggers made good content as you did, the internet will be much more useful than ever before.

  4. Its like you read my mind! You appear to know so much about this, like you wrote the book in it or something. I think that you could do with a few pics to drive the message home a bit, but instead of that, this is fantastic blog. An excellent read. I will certainly be back.

  5. I like the valuable info you provide in your articles. I will bookmark your blog and check again here regularly. I’m quite sure I will learn a lot of new stuff right here! Best of luck for the next!

  6. Thanks so much for giving everyone an extraordinarily nice chance to read articles and blog posts from this website. It is often so great plus stuffed with fun for me personally and my office colleagues to search your web site the equivalent of thrice a week to study the newest stuff you have got. And lastly, I’m also certainly pleased with all the surprising things served by you. Certain 3 areas in this article are really the best we’ve had.

  7. My brother suggested I might like this web site. He was totally right. This post actually made my day. You cann’t imagine just how much time I had spent for this information! Thanks!

  8. I’m really impressed with your writing skills as well as with the layout on your blog. Is this a paid theme or did you modify it yourself? Anyway keep up the nice quality writing, it is rare to see a nice blog like this one today..

  9. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I’ve truly enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. After all I will be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope you write again soon!

  10. I am not sure where you are getting your information, but great topic. I needs to spend some time learning much more or understanding more. Thanks for wonderful information I was looking for this info for my mission.

  11. I was recommended this web site by my cousin. I’m not sure whether this post is written by him as no one else know such detailed about my problem. You’re incredible! Thanks!

  12. I’m not sure where you are getting your information, but good topic. I needs to spend some time learning much more or understanding more. Thanks for wonderful information I was looking for this information for my mission.

  13. I must express my passion for your kind-heartedness for individuals that need help with this important concept. Your real commitment to getting the message throughout has been certainly advantageous and have without exception made ladies much like me to get to their objectives. The valuable tutorial can mean so much a person like me and far more to my fellow workers. Thank you; from each one of us.

  14. We are a group of volunteers and starting a new scheme in our community. Your web site offered us with valuable info to work on. You have done an impressive job and our whole community will be thankful to you.

  15. I’m just commenting to make you be aware of of the fantastic discovery my friend’s girl undergone reading your webblog. She came to understand plenty of issues, most notably what it’s like to have a marvelous teaching spirit to have the others with ease grasp certain very confusing things. You actually exceeded visitors’ expectations. Thanks for coming up with the insightful, healthy, revealing and also unique tips about the topic to Evelyn.

  16. I wanted to write you this very small observation so as to say thanks yet again about the pleasant information you’ve discussed on this page. This has been extremely open-handed of people like you to make unhampered just what a few individuals could possibly have made available as an e book in order to make some bucks for their own end, especially seeing that you might well have tried it if you ever desired. The thoughts also worked to become a easy way to be certain that many people have similar eagerness just like my own to know good deal more in regard to this issue. I’m certain there are lots of more pleasant sessions ahead for individuals who read your blog post.

Leave a Reply

