Out of Stock

Standard

Picture Credit: http://www.cloutlet.com

I’ve been shopping for black pumps.  If you’re a female, you will know what I’m talking about, otherwise you may need a visual…..my husband had no idea what I was talking about when I asked him to help me look for pumps.  This gave me my chuckle (belly laugh) for the day!!!  After explaining that a pump was a close toed (this opened a completely new dialogue) shoe with a heel, we then proceeded to scour the shoe department in search for the perfect black dress pump.  Ladies, you know that of all dress shoes the black pump is the most versatile and standard staple that a girl can have in her closet.  This being the case, we located a multitude of pumps to choose from and the next phase of shoe shopping began.  Out came boxes…and boxes….and yes, more boxes until finally, the “one” arrived.  I knew instantly that this shoe would be the “one”.  It was classic and comfortable but just about a half size too small.  Wouldn’t you know it – the size I needed (and really wanted) was not available, it was out of stock.  All that time spent searching and trying on only to have my good mood shattered.  I started looking at all of the other choices, hoping that there might be one that would work.  Just about that time, the sales person came out with two boxes.  There were two additional styles that were not out on display yet and one of these boxes had the perfect fit.  This shoe far surpassed my first choice.

“And my God will meet all your needs according to the riches of His glory in Christ Jesus,” Philipians 4:19 (NIV)

The blessings God wishes to shower on us are never out of stock.  Just like the boxes of shoes that were not on display, His storehouse is always full and overflowing with the gifts that he has waiting to give us when we ask.  “Your Father knows what you need before you ask Him,” Matthew 6:8 (NIV).  Just as in my shoe shopping experience, the perfect answers to our prayers are just waiting for us.  We need to ask though in order to receive.  You do not have because you do not ask God.”  James 4:2 (NIV)  I could have spent the entire afternoon looking for black pumps in that shoe department and would have never found the hidden shoes.  I needed the wisdom of the sales person who knew what was in stock but out of sight.  If I had not asked for help I would never have been able to receive the shoes that I am so happy to now own.

Don’t hesitate to ask God for what you need.  His love for you is eternal and His desire to see you happy is immense.  Feel free to leave a comment sharing how God has provided for you from his storehouse of blessings.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

