Walk This Way

Standard

2 Corinthians 5:7
“for we walk by faith, not by sight” NASB

It seems as if most of my moments for deep thinking come while I am driving in the morning.  Today was no exception.  I rounded the corner adjacent to the subdivision I live in to see a blind person, using a white cane and crossing the walkway in the intersection.  My first thought placed me in my son’s bedroom a while back, where we spent a great deal of time studying for his drivers license test.  I had been quizzing him relentlessly so that he had a better chance of passing the dreaded written test that had a track record of claiming previous classmates and forcing humiliating retakes.  We came to a section that pertained to right of way for the blind.  In all my years of driving, I have never seen this played out to where it would become necessary to know this rule.  I told him that his odds for ever encountering this situation were probably 1000:1.  We breezed over that question and, as the luck of the unprepared would have it, this question was on the test.  Fortunately, my son had prepared well in all other areas and scored high enough to pass.  (No thanks to his mother….)

The traffic light was long this morning, maybe by Divine design, giving me the ability to watch this woman make her away across the street.  She seemingly was not upset that she had to travel in this manner, she actually looked content and quite happy.  This brought the second thought that swished around my mind in to play.  Am I like this woman?  I have eyes to see here in the natural but clearly have no seeing capability into the supernatural.  Therefore, I am handicapped in a similar manner.  Is it better to have sight in the here and now of everyday or is it more beneficial to have strong Spiritual eyesight?  Obviously, if I can, I would like to have both and feel truly blessed and thankful to say that, indeed, I do.  In the same manner as my everyday walks that find me sadly lacking in perceptive eyesight (and coordination) where I frequently trip, fall or run into furniture (it would be funny if it was not so painful), I find myself in the same Spiritual situation.  Just as I make a discovery that brings me closer to my Savior, I often trip over my own pride or fall into a pit of superiority.  Only then am I able to see that I tried to walk on my own rather than use the assistance of the One who guides and guards my steps.  I am quick to speak (red head syndrome) but often I do not choose to”fix His words in my heart and mind” (Deut 11:18, NIV) which only causes me to be a source of pain for someone else.  I am definitely speedy Gonzalez  running to share advice or or be the first to share bad news (I do so dislike this trait in others) but fail to seek the wisdom of the One who holds the future and can turn all things to good for his children.  What is wrong with me???  These are the times that show how blindly I walk in this world where all is not what we see.  “For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world, against spiritual wickedness in high places,” Ephesians 6:12.

I made a resolution to purposely put on the Armor of God each morning as I venture out into the crosswalks of life.  I may still have limited eyesight but by holding His hand, watching where I walk and staying close to His side I will have a much better walk than I do on my own.

One response »

  1. Do you mind if I quote a couple of your articles as long as I provide credit and sources back to your webpage? My blog site is in the exact same niche as yours and my visitors would definitely benefit from a lot of the information you provide here. Please let me know if this alright with you. Regards!

Leave a Reply

